{in order to get a picture together, I offered to hold the kind stranger’s dog}

We started our third day pretty early catching buses and trains (Chicago is all about public transportation) until we arrived at our breakfast destination: The Donut Vault. Jon and I are obsessed with donuts and were ecstatic to get our hands on these massive treats. We loved the design of this small doughnut shop and the gorgeous use of typography in their menu. More on this foodie find in the eats post to come.

  A shot in front of the Crown Fountain which is also a part of Millenium Park. It’s a little walk from “The Bean” but not too far at all. It was raining almost the entire day so we got a quick pic here before the rain continued.

Since the forecast predicted 100% chance of rain, we decided it was a perfect day to hit up The Art Institute of Chicago upon an enthusiastic recommendation from some friends at church. Their rec did not disappoint!

Here’s one of my favorite pieces in the museum. Unfortunately I don’t have more information on the artist who created this installation, but we learned that the artist placed a digital wind gauge outside that would relay the wind’s patterns to this glass display. If you have 20 seconds, I know you’ll think this installation is just as brilliant as I do. (If you have more information on the artist please feel free to let me know and I’ll update this post)

An homage to Ferris Bueller’s Day Off in front of Georges Seurat’s A Sunday Afternoon on the Island of La Grande Jatte.

  

The architecture of the Art Institute of Chicago and its views of the city were amazing.

Talk about a SMALL WORLD, as we were leaving the Art Institute I heard a girl call my name and turned around to see two friends from Dallas! Terri, the lovely girl on the right of me now lives in Chicago but Jesse, the other lovely lady on my left still resides in D-town. It’s crazy running into familiar faces 1,000 miles away from home, but it was an absolutely delightful surprise.

Afterwards we caught lunch at Rick Bayless’s restaurant XOCO since several of your recommended the place (thank you times a million)! Again, more to be written on this contemporary Mexican joint soon.

As I mentioned earlier, it rained most of the day. Jon and I have never owned an umbrella (don’t ask me why!) so we picked up a cheap one at Walgreens, but still had to change our pants and shoes later that afternoon since we were soaked from walking. Here I am making a sad face as its pouring and we’re unsure if they’re going to cancel our evening cruise at the Navy Pier.

Thankfully it stopped raining and off we went! We signed up for the evening cruise from Navy Pier to see the city lit up at night and because of…

the fireworks show! I love fireworks (yay for July 4th!) and the Navy Pier has a display every Wednesday evening during the summer. As much fun as this cruise was, I would recommend signing up for an architecture tour during the day and then watching the fireworks show from one of the docks at the Navy Pier. We signed up for this cruise to save a little mula, but I’d love to learn more about the city’s history and architecture background next time.

