Dana Tanamachi is the graphic designer, artist, and chalk extraordinaire behind these images. She clearly has an incredibly skillful hand and a deep understanding of type to be able to draw these images with such exquisite composition and balance.

I have literally been looking at her website and these chalk drawings every night for the past three weeks for a few reasons: One, I’m in love with her work (Did you see the way she wrote out “Nagging Doubt?” Swoon!), two, I want an intimate relationship with typography like Ms. Tanamachi and three, Jon and I have a chalkboard wall that’s been left blank until a couple of weeks ago. Needless to say, I didn’t accomplish a masterpiece similar to her work, but at least I have a goal to work towards (for eternity).

Cheers to you Dana Tanamachi! You have reinvented the way I look at chalk and you’ve given eye candy to typography lovers world-wide. Check out Dana’s portfolio here and watch some videos of her hard at work here!

