Two months later and I’m finally getting around to our New York trip! Here are the highlights from our trip.

 Our biggest highlight was definitely the picnic my friend Christine organized for us in Central Park to meet her awesome NYU friends. We spent four hours with a wonderful hodge podge of picnic food, we flew kites, threw the football and frisbee around and frolicked through the park (naturally).

Our foodie adventures will have to be shared in a separate post, but I couldn’t resist including this awesome restaurant Christine made reservations to called Beauty & Essex. It was a speak easy (apparently common in New York) so there was a pawn shop store front and a stunningly chic restaurant behind outfitted with gorgeous ornate chandeliers, champagne in the restroom (there’s nothing like relieving yourself and then taking a sip of bubbly) and a room full of open frames and vintagejewelry (pictured above).

 Forever 21 in Times Square. Had to take a photo of the shoe section because I know too many of you, like me, wish your local Forever 21 had a shoe department like this!

 Here we are after watching our first Broadway play, Mamma Mia!

  Waiting an hour and a half at the MET for the Alexander McQueen exhibit Savage Beauty. My feet were KILLING me but it was completely worth the wait. The exhibit was mind blowing and I loved watching Jon experience fashion as a artistic medium for the first time. Christine, Jon and I walked away inspired to say the least. I would highly recommend visiting McQueen’s exhibit.

 Yay! Catching up with the couple who discipled us throughout college and their little Jacob! They work for Campus Crusade and happened to be working in NYC for the summer.  Jon’s a happy boy visiting the Brooklyn Brewery.

 Love me some Ace Hotel decor!

 Lunch in China Town!

Introducing the  Chelsea Market. Exposed brick, vintage details, industrial touches and wood all mixed together in beautiful harmony? I could definitely live here.

 

The High Line! An old railroad line that’s been converted into a park. The Chelsea Market combined with the High Line make one of my favorite parts of the city, hands down. Jon and I loved the area so much we grabbed some pizza for a date and came to sit in the above photo where we could watch the traffic go by. Love.

Also on my list of most cherished moments was the pop up markets that would set up shop on the weekends in various parts of the city. It was so much fun perusing through the shops and purchasing a few pashminas as gifts for some of my friends.

More catching up! I was fortunate enough to have two friends from high school meet up with us after not seeing each other for over 8 years! Jordan, in the plaid, now works for Bette Midler (crazy right?) and Carter is a bonafied actor! So fun to reconnect after all these years.

 Nuzzling with some tolix chars at NYU. One of Christine’s many fortes is makeup. Here’s her locker at school.

 Outdoor movie at Bryant Park. It was a little too chaotic for us so we decided to grab some street food for our final evening in New York and

take one last group shot in Times Square.

A huge thanks goes to my friend Christine  (check out her portfolio site here and make up site here) who not only housed us in her Manhattan apartment, but showed us one heck of a time! We’re still recovering from the food coma we experienced there…