{ Peace Meals by the Junior League in Houston }

I had my good friend Alli come sleepover at the Jordan household while both of our husbands were out of town for The Village’s men’s retreat. I recently received a cookbook called Peace Meals (thank you Brandon & Adrienne!) which was sitting on the  coffee table when Alli came over and we realized we had the same book. Considering neither of us had actually cooked a recipe from it, we decided to challenge each other to find a good recipe and text the other person with an evaluation and photos.

{Evaluation} Alli created the German Pancakes from page 39 and she highly recommended the recipe!

Jon and I have a funny story from our Peace Meals endeavor. I had called Jon on my way home from teaching and asked him to e-mail me the recipe for Asian Chicken wraps. I thought it’d be a good meal for dinner and perfect for taking to work for lunch the next day. When I received the ingredient list at the grocery store I quickly realized it was a different recipe, but decided to make it anyways (plus Jon was at the local rec playing bball so he couldn’t give me the correct ingredients). It turns out Jon went to the correct page, but wrote out the ingredients for the recipe below the Asian Chicken wraps! Funny man.

I ended up creating the Bleu Cheese, Spinach and Turkey wrap with Raspberry Chipotle Sauce. We ate it with a side of Boulder Canyon’s Parmesan Garlic chips.

{Evaluation} NOT GOOD! The recipe called for an entire 4 oz container of bleu cheese, but I decided to use 3 oz since Jon isn’t crazy about the ingredient. Three ounces of bleu cheese was too much. The taste of the cheese was unbelievably overpowering. The bleu cheese is mixed with cream cheese, minced onion, and garlic. I doubled the onion and garlic and still could not taste it over the cheese. I would recommend the recipe with 1 oz of bleu cheese and still doubling the produce ingredients. The chips, on the other hand, were delicious!

Alli = One; Vivien = Zero

Viv

{minus the German pancake photograph, all photos are by The Eclectic Author}

